Gage (upscale Irish pub)

I wish I could rate the savory and sweet dishes separately, well, I guess I can:

1 star – savory
4 stars – sweet

It saddens me when good ingredients are underestimated, leaving the chef to cheat by adding fat to everything. Seeing that most items on the menu would contribute to a heart attack, I ordered two sides, winter squash and brussel sprouts. I was amazed at the amount of butter, bacon, and salt that were coating the mistreated vegetables. Gage needs to gain some confidence in its savory dishes and embrace, fresh and healthy seasoning.

Dessert wise, enjoy! What a surprise to find that this upscale Irish pub is hiding some of the best desserts in Chicago. Well done!

Leave a Reply

