Farmers market item of the week: adult spinach

I bought spinach from Nichols stand at the Daley Plaza farmers market this past Thursday and YUM! I lightly wilted it in a sautee pan with shallots, garlic and salt/pepper.

In a salad, raw is also delightful. This past Sunday I had a tasty dinner at a charity event for Growing Home put on by Pure Kitchen Catering. While eating a crispy, bubbly-looking green in my salad, I asked my neighbor what was it??? He replied, “adult spinach”. Why do the grocery stores keep feeding us babies when we have delicious adult spinach to eat! I’m taking a stand for adult spinach. Eat it!

Leave a Reply

