Battle: dried pepper

Although I feel I was able to extract some of the guajillo chili flavor from its dried version, overall I felt I failed to use the ingredient fully. I made a sauce for my shredded pork tacos that used roasted tomatoes, dried guajillo chilis, and garlic as its base. After soaking and roasting the peppers a bit to reconstitute and then roast them, their plastic-like skin left the meat of my sauce unusable. I had to strain my sauce after using an immersion blender unsuccessfully.

I’ve been reading some dried pepper advice sites and it sounds like manual mortar and pestle or a spice grinder is best for grinding it to a powdery consistency. Next time, I will use a spice grinder although that seems inefficient for six medium sized peppers. Suggestions welcome!

Leave a Reply

