Homemade Pizza!

Making pizza at home is not as time consuming as one may think. And the benefits of fresh, quality ingredients and control over addition of fats argue that pizza at home is the best way to go.

When I make simple bread, see recipe tab and ‘artisan bread in 5 minutes per day’, I make half of the dough into bread and store half in the fridge for pizza later. My dough has had the habit of breaking out of its tupperware and mingling with neighbors. I realized that a little kneading here and there helps control its outbursts for attention. When I’m ready to make pizza, I take out the dough and roll it to the size of my baking stone. (cheap and useful for crispy crusts) I let it warm up for 40 minutes while I prep other ingredients and put the baking stone in the oven to heat.

I’ve tried several pizza combinations thus far, and my favorite in the veggie pizza pictured below. I sauteed onions in butter/olive oil for 20 minutes with some tomato paste and deglazed with 1/2 C. red wine. That’s my sauce. Then I added roasted red peppers, sauteed crimini mushrooms, spinach, freshly shredded mozzarella cheese, tomato slices and topped with oregano, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. Throughout the entire process I was seasoning the ingredients, so watch the salt.

Once the oven and stone are at 400 degrees, I take out the stone and assemble the pizza directly on it. I first add a little cornmeal to the stone to prevent burning/sticking. After about 15 mins in the oven it’s done! And having pizza leftovers is a perfect meal at work or school.

Veggie pizza. Yum.

Leave a Reply

