I just ate a bunch of kale.

Once every few years, I buy bacon. Deciding on a hot green salad for dinner, my winter mind jumped to the thought of bacon. Greens in bacon is not original, it’s almost a classic. And now I know why.

I cut four strips of bacon into small pieces and let them sizzle away in my cast iron skillet. After extracting about 1/2 C. (at least) of bacon fat, I removed the bacon pieces and put them in the oven to crisp. Then I added chopped onions to all that bacon fat, luckily there was a little left when i threw in the blanched kale. (boiled the kale for a few minutes to breakdown the chewy veins.) I added back in the now crispy bacon bits and seasoned with salt and raw sugar (kale can be a little bitter). Then I proceeded to eat the entire bunch of kale. Good thing I started exercising again…

Indulgent.

1 Comment »

  1. Jackie Hartson Said:

    Jamie, it reminds me of our hot German bacon dressing. Looks very inviting….especially when one is hungry….grrrrrr!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

