Celebration Station: Mexican night

To celebrate my resignation from Morningstar, I decided to make a Mexican feast to accompany my boxed wine party. I made guacamole, halibut ceviche, and chiahuahua cheese and jalapeno quesadilla. Here are some recipes:

Guacamole
-1 avocado (mashed)
-half a small tomato (diced)
-quarter of a small onion (tiny dice)
-2 T. salsa
-1 T. freshly squeezed lemon or lime juice
-salt to taste

Ceviche
-6 oz white fish (i used halibut and yum!)
-half a bell pepper (diced)
-quarter of an onion (tiny dice)
-1/2 C. jicama (diced)
-1 jalapeno (diced)
-.5 C. lime juice
-bunch of cilantro
-salt to taste
-I diced the halibut and left it in the lime juice with a little salt, sugar and .5 C water for 30-40 mins. The fish should turn white versus translucent as the lime juice denatures the protein. I added the jicama to the soaking fish at the end to remove some of its starch. Then I combine all ingredients, straining out most of the soaking liquid. I dress with a little olive oil and salt.

Mexican food can be so refreshing!

!Mexican fiesta!

Leave a Reply

