Sweet potato fries

I love sweet potatoes. I love fries. I especially love sweet potato fries. If you haven’t tried your hand at these, I highly suggest you do. Here’s how easy they are to make:

Ingredients:
-1 sweet potato
-olive oil
-kosher salt
-cayenne pepper (if you want to add some heat)

Heat the oven to 400F. Peel and cut the sweet potato into steak or toothpick slices at your whim. Coat with a light layer of olive oil and season with salt. Then arrange them with room to breathe on a baking tray and stick them in the oven. Each side of the fries requires approx 10-15 minutes. Check them every 10 minutes or so to make sure they don’t burn. I found the steak fry size to be my favorite as the smaller varieties are harder to flip evenly during cooking.

You can eat these anyway you can dream of. Tonight I had half the batch with my chicken and gravy. Tomorrow morning, I may throw a sunny side egg over the other half and give them a warm yolk bath. Or, you can dip them in honey which is especially good if you’ve added a little cayenne pepper.

Yours for the taking!

Leave a Reply

