Bacalhau stew

Continuing on my Portuguese themed dishes, I made a bacalhau stew this evening. A chef that’s been highlighted by Slow Food Chicago, Viktorija Todorovska, was kind enough to alert me to the realization that Whole Foods carries salted cod in the freezer section. Several years ago I tried salt cod in Brasil and I’ve been searching for it in grocery stores ever since. Unlike fresh cod, it has a heartier texture that holds up in stews and a rich flavor. I decided on a tomato based cod dish since I had some sauce tomat leftover from my French sauces excursions. (of which I still have 4 to try)

In an oiled glass pie dish, I layered pieces of green bell pepper, slices of already cooked potato, slices of onion into a spiral until the bottom was covered. Then I seasoned with salt, pepper, olive oil and lemon juice. I added fresh parsley, capers and olives and then poured the sauce tomat over the top. (1 C. of sauce) I added some lemon juice to the tomato sauce before pouring to freshen it up and then grated some lemon zest over the top.

It cooked at 350F for 40-45minutes and came out smelling like a mediterranean fantasy; lemon, olives, tomato, cod, parsley. One pound of cod make for two pie dishes of food. I will savor every bite and make it again soon.

Add some crusty bread to soak up the sauce!

Leave a Reply

