Squash ricotta ravioli with Italian pork sausage

My first pasta from scratch was a worthy attempt but not a huge success. I made kale pasta by adding blanched, puree kale to the flour/egg mixture. I used a ratio of 4C. flour to 4 eggs and I think the result was too floury. I wonder if that ratio of egg to flour only works when you create a flour well on a table rather than mix ingredients in a bowl, so that excess flour can remain on the table if the pasta has hit its flour saturation level. I’ll try the well next time.

From the pasta, I rolled out a quarter of the dough to make ravioli. After rolling until paper thin, I folded the dough in half and then cut out randomly sized triangles to reduce dough waste. I added the filling one triangle of each pair and then sealed them with egg washed over the none filling side. The filling was simply baked acorn squash and ricotta cheese seasoned with salt and nutmeg.

I heated some olive oil on the stove with a number of Indian spices, including; cinnamon, clove, fenugreek, cumin seed, coriander seed, cardamon seed, star anise, black pepper, etc. I strained the oil and used it to cook uncased Italian pork sausage. I bought the pork sausage from Jake’s Country Meats’ stand at the Logan Park farmers market and I will never buy grocery store sausage again, so good!

I boiled the ravioli until they floated to the surface of the water, approx 3-5 minutes, topped with sausage and then drizzled some spice-infused oil olive and lemon juice on top.

Overall good, but not great. The spices were not pungent enough to season the dish and I will consider adding more spices to the ravioli filling rather than in a simple sauce.

filling time!

Triangles are less wasteful 🙂

Sausage and sauce added for a tasty bite.

1 Comment »

  1. Jackie Hartson Said:

    Wow!
    They look professional! I would have thought that the sausage would have had enough flavor to carry the pasta??
    You can practice them at my house 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

