Simple spaghetti

Ok, so the pasta isn’t round but at least it’s homemade. With tomatoes that I canned in August, I made a basic tomato sauce. In a pot, I added onions, carrots, tomatoes, 1 C. water, salt, sugar, red pepper flakes, herbs, cloves, parmesan cheese chunk and let it all simmer for 4 hrs. At the end I used my immersion blender to puree the hot mix. The original stew reduced into thick, flavorful sauce that I will use for pasta, pizza, lasagna, polenta, etc.

Also, for the pasta, it is taking me awhile to discover the correct proportions of flour, egg, water and oil. When I’ve used just egg and flour, the pasta has been doughy. This time I used 1 C. flour, pinch of salt, 1 egg, 1Tbsp each of olive oil and water. This combo created a soft texture while offering more flavor, perhaps from the olive oil.

simmering sauce

Pasta with tomato sauce and parmesan cheese.

1 Comment »

  1. Jackie Hartson Said:

    It looks Christmasy to me!
    Looking forward to tasting homemade pasta….ymmm
    Yoga is a good balance to such tasty intakes…..


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

