Tomato sauce rounds: Pizza

If you are lucky enough to have a Trader Joe’s grocery store near you, I highly recommend their ready-to-bake pizza dough. They offer both wheat and white flour doughs for only $1.09. I have historically made my own pizza dough but waiting 3 hrs for the dough to rise is annoying…so, as of today TJ’s will be the source of my dough.

I rolled out the dough, added a light coating of tomato sauce that I made this past week, slices of low-moisture mozzarella and salt/pepper. Put it in the oven at 475F for 5 minutes, then took it out to add oregano, fresh spinach and a drizzle of olive oil. I returned it to the oven for 5 more minutes. Before serving, I squeezed a little lemon over the top, shredded some parmesan cheese and dug in. …so much better than most pizza joints, much better quality of ingredients.

Who doesn't like pizza?

3 Comments »

  1. That looks a delicious pizza Jamie! It’s so easy to make pizza at home, I don’t understand why more people don’t have a go. I like my pizza with greenery on too, and nice to see the pizza not to overloaded with toppings, with minimal lovely toppings as you have you get a nice crispy base.
    Did you cook this on a pizza stone or a baking tray?
    I usually cook my pizza at the maximum temperature I can 480F in my indoor fan oven for 4-5 mins.
    Like our lemon drizzled on top, great idea.
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • jamieott Said:

      Thanks Marcus! …I just finished the whole pizza by myself..haha. I used a baking stone but still wasn’t satisfied with the lack of crispy crust. I think I’ll turn up the heat as you mention in your comment. I love a crispy crust!

  2. Arv Said:

    That sounds AMAZZZING. Pizza party, please!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

