Mussels in a white wine sauce with potatoes and tomatoes

I’ve been meaning to cook mussels for years and tonight the stars aligned to make it so. I recommend mussels to any level of cook as they are fast and easy to make. Apparently they need to be kept cold and have an air supply and should be completely shut before cooking. They are relatively inexpensive as 15 mussels were $3.50 from Whole Foods. I let them soak in cold water for 10 minutes to wash them gently before cooking. In a pan I sauteed garlic and shallots in olive oil until shallots were translucent. I then added the mussels to the pan and flipped to coat in the oil. Added 1/4 C. of white wine and mixed herbs and then covered with a lid. I let it cook for 5 minutes according to a recipe I found online. All the mussels opened and I hoped for the best in terms of doneness. I removed the mussels and added heavy whipping cream to the white wine and shallots. I let it simmer for a few minutes and seasoned with salt/sugar/pepper.

I fried some slices of bread in olive oil, roasted sungold cherry tomatoes and boiled several small potatoes to join the mussels in a dish. It all turned out well and I look forward to making them more often.

A pile of yum.

Leave a Reply

