Oh, sure, an apple pie.

Since I’m moving soon, it’s time for me to use up whatever’s in the freezer and fridge. I had a leftover Trader Joe’s pie crust which I could either turn into a quiche or a pie. Since I have been on egg overload, I decided on throwing together an apple pie. I’ll warn you that my recipe will not help you much but that there are hundred’s of thousands of recipes online. This post is only for inspiration.

I peeled and sliced 6 granny smith apples and mixed them with: 1/2 C flour, 1 C white sugar, .5 C brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, tsp of salt and juice of two limes. I lined my pie plate with the pie crust and poured the apple mixture into the plate, 9″ diameter. I cut little butter wedges and stuck them between the apples wherever I saw a hole. For the oatmeal topping, I melted 1/4 C. butter and mixed it with some flour, sugar and instant steel cut oats. Once the crumble top was sprinkled on, I popped it in the oven for 1.25 hrs at 350F. Love the sour bite of the apples with the chewy oats and buttery, sugary goodness.

All for me. Just kidding, I’ll share one piece.

Mixing pie with oatmeal made ‘dessert for breakfast’ a less guilty experience.

1 Comment »

  1. hodoh Said:

    Oh, Jamie!
    It is both a blessing and a curse to open up your blog!
    Fun to get tips, recipes/inspiration; but, dastardly to get pictures of these phenomenal meals (especially when you are hungry)!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

